AKG P420 Review

Project Studio Condenser Microphone

51,654 reviews
akg.com
AKG
  • For Voice, Instruments, Drums & Cabs
  • Three Polar Patterns for Versatility
  • -20 dB Pad Impedes Distortion
  • Low-Cut Filter Suppresses Bass Buildup
  • Shockmount Inhibits Vibration Noise
  • 1" Gold-Sputtered Dual Large Diaphragms
  • Handles Extremely Loud Sound Sources
  • Includes Metal Carrying Case
  • XLR Output for Hookup to Mic Preamp
  • Operates on 48V Phantom Power

Introduction

In this article, we delve into a detailed analysis of 51,654 user reviews from various languages worldwide to examine the AKG P420. This analysis is performed by the RR artificial intelligence and updated daily with newly submitted reviews. The RR AI utilizes a complex algorithm to first scrutinize user reviews for credibility, filtering out unreliable ones. It then proceeds to dissect and evaluate the valuable insights within these reviews, providing users with ratings regarding the features of this product. Based on these assessments, users can make informed decisions about whether this product is suitable for them or not.

Ratings Based on Features

These results are a summary of user reviews of the AKG P420. For example, 91% of 14,492 users who have commented on the Value for money of the AKG P420 have given positive feedback.

91%
Value for money
91% of users are satisfied, based on 14,492 reviews
89%
Sound quality
89% of users are satisfied, based on 11,772 reviews
87%
Sheerness
87% of users are satisfied, based on 5,897 reviews
95%
Versatility
95% of users are satisfied, based on 5,890 reviews
88%
For beginners
88% of users are satisfied, based on 5,882 reviews
90%
Sturdiness
90% of users are satisfied, based on 5,875 reviews
92%
Style
92% of users are satisfied, based on 4,939 reviews
88%
Comfort
88% of users are satisfied, based on 2,720 reviews
98%
Quality of material
98% of users are satisfied, based on 951 reviews
Average Rating (51,654 ratings)
92%
Amazon.co.uk ( 4,946 ratings )
94%
Amazon.it ( 4,939 ratings )
94%
Amazon.de ( 4,929 ratings )
92%
Amazon.nl ( 4,920 ratings )
92%
Amazon.se ( 4,920 ratings )
92%
Amazon.pl ( 4,920 ratings )
92%
Amazon.com.au ( 4,920 ratings )
92%
Amazon.fr ( 3,930 ratings )
92%
Amazon.es ( 2,720 ratings )
94%
Amazon.com ( 951 ratings )
94%
Amazon.in ( 936 ratings )
88%
Amazon.sa ( 927 ratings )
92%
Amazon.ae ( 927 ratings )
92%
Amazon.eg ( 927 ratings )
92%
Amazon.ca ( 926 ratings )
92%
Amazon.com.mx ( 926 ratings )
92%
Amazon.com.br ( 925 ratings )
92%
Amazon.com.tr ( 924 ratings )
92%
Amazon.co.jp ( 924 ratings )
92%
Amazon.sg ( 924 ratings )
92%
Thomann ( 169 ratings )
94%
SweetWater ( 37 ratings )
90%
B&H Photo Video ( 36 ratings )
91%
Reverb ( 14 ratings )
93%
Musicians Friend ( 13 ratings )
90%
Guitar Center ( 10 ratings )
90%
Amazon.cn ( 6 ratings )
96%
Adorama ( 5 ratings )
100%
Zzounds ( 3 ratings )
90%
Show more

Highlighted Customer Reviews

Showing 1 to 20 of 40 Reviews

Great sound for small price

AKG Project Studio P420 Multi-Pattern Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Review

AKG Project Studio P420 Multi-Pattern Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone

Jul 31, 2011

Reviewed on B&H Photo Video

I had a chance to try 10 different studio mics before buying. Brands like Apex, Audio-Technica, AKG, Prodipe... in a range between $100-400. In comparaison to a cheap (but still) Neumann mic. I tried 3 different takes: Acoustic Guitar (Guild GAC 40) Man's voice Flute The AKGs, Perception 220 or 420, are the only two that exceeded my expectations in term of quality. There is a great warmth in mid low frequencies (almost too much), even better than the Tube Apex mics, that were too screamy in the High frequencies. Let's be clear: This wont be worth a Tube Neumann mic. But for that price, I found it better than other mics twice as expensive. It's a great choice. ... More

Definitely the best in its price range

AKG P420 Project Studio Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P420 Project Studio Condenser Microphone

May 28, 2018

Reviewed by Cole on Guitar Center

Best LDC under $200. Tried most of them. Experienced engineer who doesn't use cheap mics. But I'd use this one if I had to. Comes with a hardshell case, shockmount, and is multipattern. Built pretty well too.

Excellent Multi Purpose Large Diaphragm

AKG Project Studio P420 Multi-Pattern Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Review

AKG Project Studio P420 Multi-Pattern Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone

Feb 19, 2014

Reviewed by Vince E on B&H Photo Video

Going to cut to the chaseIn my project studio I record nothing but acoustic instruments and vocals. I use pairs of AKG 451's, Neumann KM 184's as well as AKG 214's running through a Focusrite ISA Two. I really wanted a LD Multi Pattern mic but was not in the mood to drop $1K for an AKG 414 or any of the Neumann's. I was skeptical of the quality control AKG may have over mics made in Chinabut this 420 put those fears to rest. The Mic is a tank and it sounds great at $$you would have to be nuts not to get this baby. My vocals sound better through this 420 than they do through my 214..that alone made it worth the $$it's a no nonsense middle of the road make everything sound good mic..buy it ... More

My first microphone I've bought for recording.

AKG P420 Project Studio Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P420 Project Studio Condenser Microphone

Jun 7, 2019

Reviewed by Roar on Guitar Center

As a first microphone I've bought it seems to work really well. I'm new to singing and didn't want to break the bank on a microphone for recording and this one seems to work great in my opinion. I don't have anything to compare it too. So far it does what it needs to do for my purposes and I would recommend it if your interesting in laying some vocals down on some tracks etc...

A Very True sounding mic! Love it!

AKG Project Studio P420 Multi-Pattern Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Review

AKG Project Studio P420 Multi-Pattern Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone

Jul 5, 2016

Reviewed on B&H Photo Video

This mic sounds great! I find it is very honest in sound and a great value for the money!

Ads

AKG Project Studio P420 Multi-Pattern Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone
$149
B&H Photo Video
AKG Project Studio P420 Multi-Pattern Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone
AKG P420 Large-diaphragm Condenser Microphone
$229
SweetWater
AKG P420 Large-diaphragm Condenser Microphone
AKG P420
149€
Thomann
AKG P420
AKG P420 Studio Vocal Recording Kit
$341.91
B&H Photo Video
AKG P420 Studio Vocal Recording Kit
AKG P420 Project Studio Condenser Microphone
$199
Guitar Center
AKG P420 Project Studio Condenser Microphone
AKG Acoustics P420 Large Diaphragm Microphone Recording Setup Kit
$299.96
Adorama
AKG Acoustics P420 Large Diaphragm Microphone Recording Setup Kit
AKG Acoustics P420 Large Diaphragm Dual-Capsule True Condenser Microphone
$229
Adorama
AKG Acoustics P420 Large Diaphragm Dual-Capsule True Condenser Microphone
AKG Acoustics P420 Dual-Capsule True Condenser Microphone With Accessory Kit
$209
Adorama
AKG Acoustics P420 Dual-Capsule True Condenser Microphone With Accessory Kit
AKG Acoustics P420 Dual-Capsule True Condenser Microphone With Accessory Kit
$209
Adorama
AKG Acoustics P420 Dual-Capsule True Condenser Microphone With Accessory Kit
AKG Acoustics P420 Large Diaphragm Dual-Capsule Condenser Microphone W/ACC KIT
$209.95
Adorama
AKG Acoustics P420 Large Diaphragm Dual-Capsule Condenser Microphone W/ACC KIT
AKG P420 Project Studio Condenser Microphone
$229
Musicians Friend
AKG P420 Project Studio Condenser Microphone
AKG P420 Multi-Pattern Large Diaphragm Condenser Microphone
$179
Reverb
AKG P420 Multi-Pattern Large Diaphragm Condenser Microphone
AKG P420 Perception High-Performance Multi-Pattern Condenser Microphone
$194.95
Zzounds
AKG P420 Perception High-Performance Multi-Pattern Condenser Microphone

Hidden-Gem Mic

AKG P420 Multi-Pattern Large Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P420 Multi-Pattern Large Diaphragm Condenser Microphone

Aug 6, 2021

Reviewed by Kenneth B. on Reverb

I’m not sure why this doesn’t get more love. This mic just flat out sounds good on everything. Frequency response is warm, crisp, and accurate all at the same time. Room/bass out mic for drums, acoustic, guitar cab, vocals. It’s a work horse well suited for any home studio or podcast set up. I love the different polarity options and the dB pad works well for my applications. I have about 10 mics in my locker, and I would choose these hands down over everything else. I have lent them out to friends for projects and they are consistently impressed with the quality. ... More

Great multi-use mic!

AKG P420 Multi-Pattern Large Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P420 Multi-Pattern Large Diaphragm Condenser Microphone

May 18, 2020

Reviewed by Mike D. on Reverb

I was looking for a mic to record drums with. Originally was going to use this as a second mic (the other being a kick drum mic), but I have been keeping this right above the badge on the kick and it's been my sole mic. I also slapped this in front of a guitar cab and it sounded crisp and clear. The extra polar patterns are fun and makes it useful for multiple purposes. This is definitely not a C414, but for home recording / online lessons, this is a great buy!

Beautiful. Smart. Flexible

AKG Project Studio P420 Multi-Pattern Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Review

AKG Project Studio P420 Multi-Pattern Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone

Sep 23, 2009

Reviewed on B&H Photo Video

I was looking for a mic with a different look, but that could also be used in different environments. I've used the 420 in the field in very loud music environments and in almost silent sound stages. Amazing sound.

Amazing sound

AKG P420 Project Studio Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P420 Project Studio Condenser Microphone

Apr 4, 2018

Reviewed by Schu on Guitar Center

This has a surprisingly great sound for under $200

LOVE IT!

AKG P420 Multi-Pattern Large Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P420 Multi-Pattern Large Diaphragm Condenser Microphone

Jul 5, 2019

Reviewed by Justin S. on Reverb

For the longest time I was thinking I would get the Rode NT1A because it's the industry standard and supposedly is one of the least noisy mics ever. However upon testing this mic out, I was in love with the warm sounds it produced! The multi-pattern options is also a bonus that makes this a very versatile mic. The only complaint I have is that the included low-pass filter is a little too steep in my opinion (300 hertz) and it should be closer to 50 or 100.

Works great , clear as a bell, I love the adjustable responce sphear! Great quality !

AKG P420 Multi-Pattern Large Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P420 Multi-Pattern Large Diaphragm Condenser Microphone

Mar 24, 2019

Reviewed by Doug O. on Reverb

Clear as it can be and VERY well made, response is perfect...love the adjustability of it. I'm spoiled to this degree of clarity and response.

Noisy Brick

AKG Project Studio P420 Multi-Pattern Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Review

AKG Project Studio P420 Multi-Pattern Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone

Jun 4, 2020

Reviewed by Nicasio on B&H Photo Video

I wasn't expecting a top of the line mic, but I was expecting something usable. Even compared to my cheaper mics, this one was unusable because of the noise level. I also experienced some strange variations in sensitivity so I may have received a dysfunctional unit. This mic is also super heavy, so is the included shock mount. Both together will destroy any cheap boom arm mic stands, so be wary of that.

Affordable, Reliable, AKG

AKG P420 Multi-Pattern Large Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P420 Multi-Pattern Large Diaphragm Condenser Microphone

Mar 21, 2019

Reviewed by Shawn T. on Reverb

This mic was exactly what I needed for the price. A decent condenser mic with multiple pickup patterns for a number of environments. Is it a professional quality studio mic? No. Things sound mostly flat and lifeless through it, but for the price it's a very good mic. The microphone build quality is heavy and sturdy. It feels like a good piece of gear when you hold it. The latching case that it comes with is also a nice touch. Overall, this is a good entry level AKG microphone.

Perception Is Perfection

AKG Project Studio P420 Multi-Pattern Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Review

AKG Project Studio P420 Multi-Pattern Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone

Feb 24, 2010

Reviewed by Charles the Jammer on B&H Photo Video

Not long ago a microphone of this quality would have costs thousands of dollars. Thanks to the incredible research and development team at AKG anyone can enjoy professional sound at consumer prices. Don't settle for less. Perception is perfection

Great compliment to an SM57/E906

AKG P420 Project Studio Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P420 Project Studio Condenser Microphone

Nov 24, 2019

Reviewed by CircleSky68 on Guitar Center

Nice blended with an sm57 or e906.

AKG P420 Multi-Pattern Large Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P420 Multi-Pattern Large Diaphragm Condenser Microphone

Jan 17, 2019

Reviewed by Kevin K. on Reverb

Best mic I've tried so far. First one that can capture the sound of my didgeridoo properly. Sounds good on everything else I've tested as well. Very clear and accurate. Build quality is quite nice as well... it's heavy and substantial feeling, and the shock mount is made of metal and feels sturdy. Comes in a really nice case as well. I like it!

Prompt Service

AKG Project Studio P420 Multi-Pattern Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Review

AKG Project Studio P420 Multi-Pattern Large-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone

Nov 2, 2014

Reviewed on B&H Photo Video

This microphone was purchased as a gift for my daughter. She was so excited to receive it, and told me that I purchased the exact one that she was looking for! Thanks so much for your prompt service! I would definitely shop on your website again!

Excellent Microphone

AKG P420 Project Studio Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P420 Project Studio Condenser Microphone

Feb 26, 2021

Reviewed by Aaron G on Guitar Center

Great Mic, I have been using it now for about a week in total time I have it mounted on a desk stand and so far it has picked up everything I am using it for clearly and accurately. I highly recommend it.

Didn't come as advertised

AKG P420 Multi-Pattern Large Diaphragm Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P420 Multi-Pattern Large Diaphragm Condenser Microphone

Sep 11, 2017

Reviewed by Alexander H. on Reverb

This mic was not in mint condition as advertised when I got it. The case that it came in smelled like a bar and there were little blue and red pieces all over it. Over all I am happy with the performance of the mic so far.

I would buy another one if I need a second mic

AKG P420 Project Studio Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P420 Project Studio Condenser Microphone

Dec 4, 2023

Reviewed by Kenneth on Guitar Center

I use the the Akg 420 for vocals in the studio Iam 100% satisfied with the outcome Great clarity and sound tone I would recommend the Akg 420 For use in the studio however I haven't tried this mic live yet

Showing 1 to 20 of 40 Reviews