AKG P120 Review

Large-diaphragm Condenser Microphone

74,916 reviews
akg.com
AKG
  • For Voice, Instruments, Drums & Cabs
  • XLR Output for Hookup to Mic Preamp
  • Operates on 48V Phantom Power
  • Includes Mic Stand Adapter
  • Cardioid Pattern Lowers Stage/Room Noise
  • Switchable Pad Prevents Distortion
  • Low-Cut Filter Suppresses Bass Buildup
  • Handles Extremely High Sound Levels
  • 0.67" Gold-Sputtered Diaphragm

Introduction

In this article, we delve into a detailed analysis of 74,916 user reviews from various languages worldwide to examine the AKG P120. This analysis is performed by the RR artificial intelligence and updated daily with newly submitted reviews. The RR AI utilizes a complex algorithm to first scrutinize user reviews for credibility, filtering out unreliable ones. It then proceeds to dissect and evaluate the valuable insights within these reviews, providing users with ratings regarding the features of this product. Based on these assessments, users can make informed decisions about whether this product is suitable for them or not.

Ratings Based on Features

These results are a summary of user reviews of the AKG P120. For example, 92% of 29,938 users who have commented on the Value for money of the AKG P120 have given positive feedback.

92%
Value for money
92% of users are satisfied, based on 29,938 reviews
89%
Sound quality
89% of users are satisfied, based on 26,912 reviews
89%
For beginners
89% of users are satisfied, based on 10,993 reviews
86%
Sheerness
86% of users are satisfied, based on 7,986 reviews
95%
Versatility
95% of users are satisfied, based on 7,957 reviews
88%
Quality of material
88% of users are satisfied, based on 6,051 reviews
88%
Sturdiness
88% of users are satisfied, based on 4,939 reviews
92%
Style
92% of users are satisfied, based on 4,939 reviews
92%
For gaming
92% of users are satisfied, based on 3,040 reviews
74%
Noise cancellation
74% of users are satisfied, based on 3,037 reviews
94%
Accuracy
94% of users are satisfied, based on 3,018 reviews
100%
Easy to use
100% of users are satisfied, based on 3,018 reviews
100%
Comfort
100% of users are satisfied, based on 3,018 reviews
80%
Volume control
80% of users are satisfied, based on 3,010 reviews
Average Rating (74,916 ratings)
93%
Amazon.co.uk ( 4,946 ratings )
94%
Amazon.it ( 4,939 ratings )
94%
Amazon.de ( 4,929 ratings )
92%
Amazon.nl ( 4,920 ratings )
92%
Amazon.se ( 4,920 ratings )
92%
Amazon.pl ( 4,920 ratings )
92%
Amazon.com.au ( 4,920 ratings )
92%
Amazon.fr ( 3,930 ratings )
92%
Amazon.com ( 3,040 ratings )
94%
Amazon.in ( 3,037 ratings )
90%
Amazon.com.mx ( 3,018 ratings )
98%
Amazon.es ( 3,018 ratings )
92%
Amazon.ae ( 3,013 ratings )
92%
Amazon.sa ( 3,012 ratings )
92%
Amazon.eg ( 3,012 ratings )
92%
Amazon.ca ( 3,011 ratings )
92%
Amazon.com.tr ( 3,010 ratings )
92%
Amazon.co.jp ( 3,010 ratings )
92%
Amazon.com.br ( 3,003 ratings )
92%
Amazon.sg ( 3,003 ratings )
92%
Thomann ( 227 ratings )
94%
B&H Photo Video ( 21 ratings )
90%
SweetWater ( 19 ratings )
100%
Guitar Center ( 18 ratings )
90%
Reverb ( 10 ratings )
94%
Musicians Friend ( 8 ratings )
90%
Zzounds ( 2 ratings )
100%
Show more

Highlighted Customer Reviews

Showing 1 to 20 of 33 Reviews

There Might Be Better But Not At This Price

AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone

Jul 31, 2020

Reviewed by Naj the Rock Fossil on Guitar Center

I use this for my daily voice lessons and for home studio recording. The low frequency cut switch saves time in EQ'ing out the unnecessary bass boom that messes up a vocal track. The 20 Db attenuator switch eliminates daily nuisance noise. This is a pro mic at an entry level cost. There are no doubt better condenser mics out there, but not at this price. It is truly a bargain I recommend without hesitation.

Just What I Needed

AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone

Jan 15, 2016

Reviewed by Wannabefamous on Guitar Center

This is just what I needed for my home studio. Can also take it with me when recording elsewhere. Great clarity for the price!

Beautiful clean sound. Warm, not metallic. Slightly bright.

AKG P120 Cardioid Condenser Microphone (Black) Review

AKG P120 Cardioid Condenser Microphone (Black)

Dec 6, 2019

Reviewed by Charles on B&H Photo Video

This is a very wonderful microphone. From the very first voice recording I ever made, I loved how my voice sounded. It seemed to isolate my voice, like I was speaking in a padded room. I couldn't believe how defined and precise my voice sounded. I believe it keeps my voice very accurate, and very clean. It picks up my voice very good without getting any noise from my computer in the background. It is very sensitive, and very powerful. I use 50% gain on my Scarlett USB interface. This microphone is supposed to be more forgiving on Vocals than the older P220 model which was extremely bright on top. The P120 is slightly bright, but not metallic or shrill. It's a very precise clean bright sound, that really makes your voice clear. I don't notice any residual harmonic distortion, so the circuitry is obviously very good. No hiss, or background buzz whatsoever. I think if this microphone cost $200, people would be buying it like crazy. ... More

Great for home recording

AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone

Apr 14, 2020

Reviewed by Dede The Singer/songwriter on Guitar Center

Got this for my home studio when I didn't want to fork over the cash for a better model AKG. I'm pretty happy with how the recording sounds. I'm mostly using it for live-streaming but it seems like it'd be fine for podcasting and home audio!

Great project studio mic

AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone

Apr 15, 2017

Reviewed by Timm73 on Guitar Center

Great mic for home studio

Ads

AKG P120 Cardioid Condenser Microphone (Black)
$79
B&H Photo Video
AKG P120 Cardioid Condenser Microphone (Black)
AKG P120 Desktop Vocal Recording Kit
$199.99
B&H Photo Video
AKG P120 Desktop Vocal Recording Kit
AKG P120 Condenser Microphone Starter Recording Kit with Notepad-8FX Mixer
$299.95
B&H Photo Video
AKG P120 Condenser Microphone Starter Recording Kit with Notepad-8FX Mixer
AKG P120 Large-diaphragm Condenser Microphone
$115
SweetWater
AKG P120 Large-diaphragm Condenser Microphone
AKG P120
89€
Thomann
AKG P120
AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone
$99
Guitar Center
AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone
AKG Acoustics Project Studio P120 Medium Diaphragm Cardioid Condenser Microphone
$115
Adorama
AKG Acoustics Project Studio P120 Medium Diaphragm Cardioid Condenser Microphone
AKG Acoustics Project Studio P120 Cardioid Condenser Microphone W/Accessory Kit
$129.94
Adorama
AKG Acoustics Project Studio P120 Cardioid Condenser Microphone W/Accessory Kit
AKG Acoustics Project Studio P120 Medium Cardioid Condenser Microphone W/ACC KIT
$247.35
Adorama
AKG Acoustics Project Studio P120 Medium Cardioid Condenser Microphone W/ACC KIT
AKG Acoustics Project Studio P120 Cardioid Condenser Microphone W/Accessoey Kit
$129.95
Adorama
AKG Acoustics Project Studio P120 Cardioid Condenser Microphone W/Accessoey Kit
AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone
$115
Musicians Friend
AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone
AKG P120 General-Purpose Medium Diaphragm Cardioid Condenser Microphone
$75.02
Reverb
AKG P120 General-Purpose Medium Diaphragm Cardioid Condenser Microphone
AKG P120 Perception High-Performance Condenser Microphone
$115
Zzounds
AKG P120 Perception High-Performance Condenser Microphone

would recomend this

AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone

Sep 3, 2017

Reviewed by David on Guitar Center

great value and very versatile no feedback/dist. have used for vocal and guitar

Decent Condenser for Starting

AKG P120 General-Purpose Medium Diaphragm Cardioid Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P120 General-Purpose Medium Diaphragm Cardioid Condenser Microphone

May 6, 2018

Reviewed by Blake B. on Reverb

I would recommend this condenser to someone who is starting recording and say that recording isn’t about having the most expensive mic but a good mic that you can learn to use. This condenser sounds great if you use it right and know what to do with it, the only reason I give it 3 stars is to be honest and say it stays in the locker most days for me because it has a higher self noise than I like, if it didn’t have that slight hum when you start to turn up the gain this would be an outstanding microphone. I would take this over one of the cheap Amazon mics any day though. ... More

Recommended

AKG P120 Cardioid Condenser Microphone (Black) Review

AKG P120 Cardioid Condenser Microphone (Black)

Dec 25, 2019

Reviewed by Jarel on B&H Photo Video

Great mic with great sound for the price. I have 6 of them now. I use them as overheads for drums, guitar amps, and also as choir mics. I only had to perform a couple of EQ curves. Understand it's not just the mic that needs to sound good. The preamp, mixing console, amps, speaker system and room acoustics all play a role in the overall sound. A chain is only as strong as its weakest link.

Heavy, Excellent Sound

AKG P120 General-Purpose Medium Diaphragm Cardioid Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P120 General-Purpose Medium Diaphragm Cardioid Condenser Microphone

Dec 16, 2019

Reviewed by Rick T. on Reverb

First, let me say this is heavy! I am a drummer and was looking for a mic I can use on a boom and bring in from a side and use sideways so the cord didn't get in the way of my hands. This works perfect and sounds great, but I really have to crank down the boom or it could drift down. The quality is excellent and you can tell it is extremely well made. I've used SM57's and 58's as well as a few headset mics. This one blows them all away. It actually makes my horrible singing tolerable. :-) ... More

Ay Kay Gee

AKG P120 General-Purpose Medium Diaphragm Cardioid Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P120 General-Purpose Medium Diaphragm Cardioid Condenser Microphone

Oct 1, 2020

Reviewed by Remy S. on Reverb

Lovely microphone. I wanted something to record a tube amp as well as vocals and just more of a general purpose mic and found this lovely on Reverb. Good price, solid construction. I have never owned a condenser mic, and I feel like this is a good entry into the category. It definitely picks up more background noise than I am used to, but I'm just approaching it as a learning curve. I am using it conjunction with a Focusrite Solo into Ableton. I am liking the results so far!

Mic works well for my needs

AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone

Apr 2, 2021

Reviewed by Elaine F. on Guitar Center

I purchased this particular microphone because I thought I was going to use it over my piano for remote teaching on Zoom. I found it worked better as my speaking mic and purchased another, different, mic for the piano. This works well for speaking because I can sit back from the mic and speak in a comfortable voice level so my students can hear me.

Best Mic at This Price Point, Period

AKG P120 Cardioid Condenser Microphone (Black) Review

AKG P120 Cardioid Condenser Microphone (Black)

Mar 2, 2021

Reviewed by Brian on B&H Photo Video

The AKG P120 has very good dynamic range for a budget microphone. Excellent for voice, and quite good for instrumentals (cello and guitar), too. I listened to every microphone in the $150-250 dollar range before making a decision, and this handily outperformed every other mic in this class. Very nice build quality, heavy and robust.

I love it

AKG P120 Cardioid Condenser Microphone (Black) Review

AKG P120 Cardioid Condenser Microphone (Black)

Jul 3, 2020

Reviewed by Adel on B&H Photo Video

Good quality, Easy of use

Great mic!

AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone

Apr 22, 2019

Reviewed by ProdByAR on Guitar Center

I have no complaints for this mic it sounds good for vocals which is what mainly use it for.

AKG P120 General-Purpose Medium Diaphragm Cardioid Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P120 General-Purpose Medium Diaphragm Cardioid Condenser Microphone

Jun 20, 2019

Reviewed by Kenneth P. on Reverb

Sounds really good and highly sensitive. Perfect for my needs. Will change recordings and their quality. Run it hot and you can hear a guitar pick hit the carpet. Effortless singing and captures all nuance. nice and sturdy/solid.

I would buy it again and I recommend to fellow musicians

AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone

Feb 9, 2020

Reviewed by Prettyboydre on Guitar Center

I use it in my home studio to make my songs my songs are on all music platforms search up "Prettyboydre"

Im thinking bout getting a second one

AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone

Mar 22, 2019

Reviewed by Eddie on Guitar Center

Love the price and the quality.

Awesome !

AKG P120 General-Purpose Medium Diaphragm Cardioid Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P120 General-Purpose Medium Diaphragm Cardioid Condenser Microphone

May 20, 2019

Reviewed by Gary K. on Reverb

Much better than a dynamic mic for vocals while playing accoustic guitar. Don't have to be as close to the mic, picks up ambient guitar also.

Clear sound, quality build

AKG P120 General-Purpose Medium Diaphragm Cardioid Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P120 General-Purpose Medium Diaphragm Cardioid Condenser Microphone

Apr 19, 2020

Reviewed by David B. on Reverb

Since this is my first condenser mic, I can't speak from experience. But this one seems solidly built, and the recordings it makes in my amateur setup sound very good.

For the price this Mic is perfect for instruments, voice.

AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone Review

AKG P120 Project Studio Condenser Microphone

Dec 7, 2022

Reviewed by Mark on Guitar Center

Not just a great beginner mic but many professionals rate this mic high on their list of go to mics....the price allow professionals to purchase several at one time, heavy duty, just all around ✅

Showing 1 to 20 of 33 Reviews