Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX, PRO 8HEMW, PRO 8HECW Review

Hypercardioid Dynamic Microphone

15,034 reviews
audio-technica.com
Audio-Technica

Introduction

In this article, we delve into a detailed analysis of 15,034 user reviews from various languages worldwide to examine the Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX, PRO 8HEMW, PRO 8HECW. This analysis is performed by the RR artificial intelligence and updated daily with newly submitted reviews. The RR AI utilizes a complex algorithm to first scrutinize user reviews for credibility, filtering out unreliable ones. It then proceeds to dissect and evaluate the valuable insights within these reviews, providing users with ratings regarding the features of this product. Based on these assessments, users can make informed decisions about whether this product is suitable for them or not.

Ratings Based on Features

These results are a summary of user reviews of the Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX, PRO 8HEMW, PRO 8HECW. For example, 40% of 1,329 users who have commented on the Durability of the Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX, PRO 8HEMW, PRO 8HECW have given positive feedback.

40%
Durability
40% of users are satisfied, based on 1,329 reviews
80%
Noise cancellation
80% of users are satisfied, based on 1,329 reviews
82%
Value for money
82% of users are satisfied, based on 1,329 reviews
82%
Sound quality
82% of users are satisfied, based on 1,329 reviews
96%
Voice Recognition
96% of users are satisfied, based on 1,329 reviews
Average Rating (15,034 ratings)
84%
Amazon.com ( 1,329 ratings )
88%
Amazon.ca ( 1,248 ratings )
84%
Amazon.co.uk ( 1,245 ratings )
84%
Amazon.com.mx ( 1,242 ratings )
84%
Amazon.com.au ( 1,242 ratings )
84%
Amazon.sg ( 1,242 ratings )
84%
Amazon.cn ( 1,029 ratings )
88%
Amazon.pl ( 861 ratings )
84%
Amazon.nl ( 541 ratings )
83%
Amazon.se ( 465 ratings )
83%
Amazon.de ( 414 ratings )
83%
Amazon.sa ( 414 ratings )
83%
Amazon.es ( 414 ratings )
83%
Amazon.fr ( 414 ratings )
83%
Amazon.in ( 414 ratings )
83%
Amazon.ae ( 414 ratings )
83%
Amazon.eg ( 414 ratings )
83%
Amazon.it ( 411 ratings )
83%
Amazon.com.br ( 409 ratings )
83%
Amazon.co.jp ( 376 ratings )
84%
Amazon.com.tr ( 287 ratings )
84%
Musicians Friend ( 78 ratings )
80%
SweetWater ( 36 ratings )
91%
Thomann ( 35 ratings )
82%
B&H Photo Video ( 27 ratings )
90%
Guitar Center ( 20 ratings )
83%
Zzounds ( 13 ratings )
80%
Show more

Highlighted Customer Reviews

Showing 1 to 20 of 35 Reviews

Great Mic!

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic Review

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic

Jul 27, 2009

Reviewed by Craig Oakley on Guitar Center

I've used this mic, and I do mean USED, for ten years. Great voice reproduction, and solid. I call it the SM58 of headsets. I do recommend using a windscreen on it to cut down on pops and breathing noise. If you play the kit, or keys, or if you don't move more than five feet in any direction while you're playing, I would highly recommend this wired headset.

Not Bad for the Money

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic Review

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic

Jan 13, 2012

Reviewed by Michael Rocchetti on Guitar Center

I bought it recently, gigged twice with it, and it has already improved my singing, playing, and stage presence. The pros: I am a bassist/singer, and with conventional mics, everytime I turn my head to look down at my instrument, I really have to sing loud so the mic can pick up my voice. With this headset mic, I don't have to worry about not being heard. My bass playing has become cleaner - especially on songs with lots of lyrics that coincide with tricky fretting. I can also move about while singing/playing - which makes it easier for me to cue (eye-contact and body-language) my bandmates. The cons: The headset is pretty noticeable, and not especially elegant looking. You are tethered by a microphone cable to your mixer, and this can be awkward. On cramped stages, it will cause feedback if you get too close to the stage monitor. Conclusion: This is a great starter headset mic. It sounds good, it's comfortable, it's effective, and it's very affordable. ... More

Excellent mic for the money

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic Review

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic

Dec 3, 2008

Reviewed by Oldslick on Guitar Center

Utilized this mic for better than a year now and has been up to the task! Has been on the road with me as well as at my "home" gig and performs as expected. Good quality sound, comfortable to wear. I am buying another to keep in my "road" gear, I highly recommend this Mic!

Great budget mic

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic Review

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic

Aug 6, 2012

Reviewed by Cody Jinkins on Guitar Center

I'm a drummer who sings back up vocals and occassional lead vocals. I've used this mic for a few years now and have few complaints about it. My only one would be that it doesn't perform as well as more expensive headset mics but I can't even complain about that because at the price I didn't expect it to. For my purposes it has held up very well and combineds with a vocal processor it gets the job done. And incidently, the round cushioned parts go on your temples, not over your ears. :)

Fair Mic

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic Review

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic

Mar 22, 2010

Reviewed by Robert Ewey on Guitar Center

I am a singer/drummer who has used this mic the last year and a half. It is decent to sing with and stays fairly well in place. The dynamics of this mic are not as good as standard vocal mics, but are acceptable for the money spent. I will likely replace this with one that has better dynamics.

Ads

Audio-Technica PRO 8-HEX - Hyper-Cardioid Headworn Dynamic Microphone with XLR Connector
$89
B&H Photo Video
Audio-Technica PRO 8-HEX - Hyper-Cardioid Headworn Dynamic Microphone with XLR Connector
Audio-Technica PRO 8/HEMW - Hyper-Cardioid Headworn Dynamic Microphone with 1/8" (3.5mm) Mini Connector for Pro88W Wireless Transmitters
B&H Photo Video
Audio-Technica PRO 8/HEMW - Hyper-Cardioid Headworn Dynamic Microphone with 1/8" (3.5mm) Mini Connector for Pro88W Wireless Transmitters
Audio-Technica Pro 8HEcW Hypercardioid Dynamic Headworn Microphone
$89
B&H Photo Video
Audio-Technica Pro 8HEcW Hypercardioid Dynamic Headworn Microphone
Audio-Technica Pro 8HEcH Hypercardioid Dynamic Headworn Microphone
$99
B&H Photo Video
Audio-Technica Pro 8HEcH Hypercardioid Dynamic Headworn Microphone
Audio-Technica PRO 8HEx Hypercardioid Dynamic Headset Microphone with XLR Connector
$89
SweetWater
Audio-Technica PRO 8HEx Hypercardioid Dynamic Headset Microphone with XLR Connector
Audio-Technica Pro 8 HEx
95€
Thomann
Audio-Technica Pro 8 HEx
Audio-Technica PRO 8HEcW Headworn Microphone for Audio-Technica Wireless
$89
SweetWater
Audio-Technica PRO 8HEcW Headworn Microphone for Audio-Technica Wireless
Audio-Technica PRO 8HEcH Headworn Microphone for Audio-Technica Wireless
$99
SweetWater
Audio-Technica PRO 8HEcH Headworn Microphone for Audio-Technica Wireless
Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic
$89
Guitar Center
Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic
Audio-Technica PRO 8HEcW Hypercardioid Dynamic Headworn Microphone
$89
Guitar Center
Audio-Technica PRO 8HEcW Hypercardioid Dynamic Headworn Microphone
Audio-Technica PRO 8HEcW Hyper-Cardioid Headworn Dynamic Microphone
$89
Adorama
Audio-Technica PRO 8HEcW Hyper-Cardioid Headworn Dynamic Microphone
Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic
$89
Musicians Friend
Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic
Audio-Technica PRO 8HEcW Hypercardioid Dynamic Headworn Microphone
$89
Musicians Friend
Audio-Technica PRO 8HEcW Hypercardioid Dynamic Headworn Microphone
Audio-Technica PRO8HEx Headworn Hypercardioid Dynamic Microphone with XLR Connection
$89
Zzounds
Audio-Technica PRO8HEx Headworn Hypercardioid Dynamic Microphone with XLR Connection
Audio-Technica PRO 8HEx Hypercardioid Dynamic Headworn Microphone
$99
Zzounds
Audio-Technica PRO 8HEx Hypercardioid Dynamic Headworn Microphone
Audio-Technica PRO 8HEx Hypercardioid Dynamic Headworn Microphone
$99
Zzounds
Audio-Technica PRO 8HEx Hypercardioid Dynamic Headworn Microphone

Very disappointing...

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic Review

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic

Aug 13, 2009

Reviewed by Dale Johnston on Guitar Center

As a drummer I bought the Audio-Technica PRO 8HEx Headset Mic to give me more freedom of movement. Only used for background vocals I didn't need or expect the quality of a decent vocal mic. I realized 5 minutes after I put it on I made a big mistake. I would move the mic into position and at the slightest movement it would rotate down and rest on my chin. It will not stay in place. Both the stalk and the swivel are loose and rotate freely, which obviously you don't want. Since microphones are "personal items" they cannot be returned. ... More

Cumbersome

Audio-Technica PRO 8-HEX - Hyper-Cardioid Headworn Dynamic Microphone with XLR Connector Review

Audio-Technica PRO 8-HEX - Hyper-Cardioid Headworn Dynamic Microphone with XLR Connector

Mar 20, 2013

Reviewed by JamesWorld on B&H Photo Video

I use this mic with the Pearstone LMT100 - Low to High Impedance Matching Transformer feeding an Olympus LS-10. Finding a good wired lavaliere or head worn mic with a 3.5 mm plug is nearly impossible.With the PRO 8-HEX, no phantom power is needed and the hyper cardioid pattern does a great job of rejecting unwanted sounds in the room.It takes some fine tuning to get the placement of the mic right to eliminate Pops and esses even with the windscreen. If you wear glasses the unit can be cumbersome and difficult to wear as it's recommended to wear the pads at the temples. If you're not careful you can end up looking like a total geek from outer space, but some may find the look advantageous. No accounting for taste.Given the options this is the best I've been able to find without spending quite a bit more money. ... More

Excellent for price

Audio-Technica PRO 8-HEX - Hyper-Cardioid Headworn Dynamic Microphone with XLR Connector Review

Audio-Technica PRO 8-HEX - Hyper-Cardioid Headworn Dynamic Microphone with XLR Connector

Feb 12, 2017

Reviewed by Christopher on B&H Photo Video

I have been in search of a headset to do live sports for some time. I tried several head sets (many higher priced than this one) and I could never get them to just work out of the box. My past experiences with microphones had always led me to phantom powered mics and that was the direction I had taken for this mic to start with. Turns out the dynamic mic was the best solution for my situation. I will not overlook dynamics again. I am using this mic with a Peavey PV 6 BT with a USB connection to the computer to interface with Wirecast. ... More

Somewhat Useable

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic Review

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic

Jan 22, 2018

Reviewed by Mark on Guitar Center

I prefer a Headset mic over a Stand mic. Nothing in the way of the music stand. Can look around at others to give cues while still singing. But this mic is weak on output, needs to be preamped. Without the preamp you have to crank the gain up about 85% and max the low knob for a useable sound. I put up with it because it works and suffices my wish to not have the stand & mic setup in front of me. So far after a few years it has not failed so I'll give it that, But just know what you're getting into for the low cost. I say it is at least worth the money but get a preamp with it and you'll be better off. ... More

Not the best quality sound, but it fits the bill.

Audio-Technica Pro 8HEcW Hypercardioid Dynamic Headworn Microphone Review

Audio-Technica Pro 8HEcW Hypercardioid Dynamic Headworn Microphone

Oct 25, 2015

Reviewed on B&H Photo Video

I use this to amplify my voice over 90 Middle School chorus students so I don't have to strain my own singing voice daily. With a little EQ applied, it's a perfectly clear sounding mic with a rugged feel and few feedback issues, even when standing in front of the speakers. I wouldn't use it for singing live, but for sound reinforcement, it's exactly what I need and no more. The headset is comfortable enough for the 45 minutes I see the class daily, but it is a small relief to take it off. I'd much rather have too tight than not tight enough. ... More

Batting A Thousand

Audio-Technica PRO 8-HEX - Hyper-Cardioid Headworn Dynamic Microphone with XLR Connector Review

Audio-Technica PRO 8-HEX - Hyper-Cardioid Headworn Dynamic Microphone with XLR Connector

Aug 3, 2009

Reviewed by The Voice of Clear Channel Stadium on B&H Photo Video

This Pro 8 Hex is used at Clear Channel Stadium in Lancaster, CA. I'm the Public Address announcer for the JetHawks, the single A affiliate of the Houston Astros. This Headworn Mic is a replacement for the original at the stadium. The quality definitely hits a home run!

Yes I would buy it again!

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic Review

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic

Jan 13, 2023

Reviewed by Ms Lee on Guitar Center

I play acoustic piano at church. I needed a mic that sounded great and hands free, also would not get in the way of my music and I could see the keys on the piano and not loss the mic, it moves with me so I don't have to worry about singing in to the mic perfect it stays right in proper place ! The Pro 8HEX is all of that and SOUNDS GREAT.. I am 110% satisfied ... Happy singer... Happy piano player..

Excellent product

Audio-Technica PRO 8/HEMW - Hyper-Cardioid Headworn Dynamic Microphone with 1/8" (3.5mm) Mini Connector for Pro88W Wireless Transmitters Review

Audio-Technica PRO 8/HEMW - Hyper-Cardioid Headworn Dynamic Microphone with 1/8" (3.5mm) Mini Connector for Pro88W Wireless Transmitters

Oct 1, 2014

Reviewed by mst on B&H Photo Video

I purchased this product because of an outstanding rating I had seen on the Internet. It indicated that this microphone had great accuracy, excellent comfort, and overall great performance. So far it is living up to its recommendation. I'm extremely happy with the microphone. I use the microphone with Dragon 13 and have seen an unbelievable increase in dictation accuracy with very few errors. My previous microphone was only about 75% accurate.

It WORKS for Apple Enhanced Dictation!

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic Review

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic

Mar 25, 2016

Reviewed by Den on Guitar Center

I am not a musician, so cannot comment for those that are. However, I never learned to do touch typing, so this is a dream for using Apple's Enhanced Dictation. There are no earphones, but I didn't want any because of the potential delay between speaking, hearing, and seeing the typing on the screen. Between the 8HEX cord plus the cord that comes with the Icicle (power supply via UPS w/ vol. control) there's almost too much length!

Less is more

Audio-Technica Pro 8HEcW Hypercardioid Dynamic Headworn Microphone Review

Audio-Technica Pro 8HEcW Hypercardioid Dynamic Headworn Microphone

Sep 23, 2013

Reviewed on B&H Photo Video

I use it as a vocal mic to complement a stand-held PG 58. The Pro8 has the clarity and response that I had come to expect from the Shure, not so for the more expensive ATM 73 which I recently sold. Another important feature is that the mic holder is hinged at the temple. It can be easily moved up out of the way and back again without affecting the gooseneck adjustment. ...and it is comfortable to wear. What's not to like!

I would buy this product again

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic Review

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic

Jul 6, 2018

Reviewed by ronald on Guitar Center

I bought These in hoping I would be able to use it in an Open-Mic setting with a flute Player etc After trying this out I found that I had much more confidence, Because the Mic followed my head Left-Right and Up and down Less concentration on being right in front of a regular Mic. Plugged into a Mixer with good Bass Mid and Treble control you should get a richer sound

These Work GREAT!

Audio-Technica PRO 8-HEX - Hyper-Cardioid Headworn Dynamic Microphone with XLR Connector Review

Audio-Technica PRO 8-HEX - Hyper-Cardioid Headworn Dynamic Microphone with XLR Connector

Mar 25, 2023

Reviewed by Mark S on B&H Photo Video

We started using these for the guitarists on our church worship team - they work so well we had to get more for the other instrumentalists and vocalists who want their hands free to praise & worship!! They plug into the mic cable and remove the clutter of mic stands on the platform. They have excellent voice pick up and no big mic in the face!

Mic

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic Review

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic

Oct 21, 2008

Reviewed by Hack on Guitar Center

Drummer that sings back up. This mic does the trick!!!! Good and hot. Fairly comfortable. It does slide down a bit and I need to push up between songs.

Great calue

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic Review

Audio-Technica PRO 8HEX Headset Mic

Jul 31, 2017

Reviewed by Richard on Guitar Center

Light weight, comfortable, clear audio, Wish I bought this one before I purchased the more expensive

Great buy for the price

Audio-Technica PRO 8-HEX - Hyper-Cardioid Headworn Dynamic Microphone with XLR Connector Review

Audio-Technica PRO 8-HEX - Hyper-Cardioid Headworn Dynamic Microphone with XLR Connector

Mar 5, 2012

Reviewed on B&H Photo Video

Needed a wired (not wireless) head worn mic for lecture sound reinforcement. This fit the need nicely. With mic placed at the corner of the lips and the small pop filter in place, it's reasonably comfortable and sound quality is good. Allowed the portable Mackie speaker/amp to be operated at high volume without feedback. Good for PA use, probably OK for vocals if the talent can deal with the wire.

Showing 1 to 20 of 35 Reviews