Shure WL185

Cardioid Lavalier Microphone

2,527 ratings
shure.com
Shure
UPC & EAN :
Average Rating (2,527 ratings)
88%
Amazon.com ( 173 ratings )
90%
Amazon.cn ( 167 ratings )
90%
Amazon.co.uk ( 144 ratings )
86%
Amazon.com.mx ( 144 ratings )
86%
Amazon.it ( 144 ratings )
86%
Amazon.es ( 144 ratings )
86%
Amazon.ae ( 144 ratings )
86%
Amazon.co.jp ( 134 ratings )
86%
Amazon.nl ( 114 ratings )
88%
Amazon.pl ( 114 ratings )
88%
Amazon.ca ( 104 ratings )
88%
Amazon.com.br ( 104 ratings )
88%
Amazon.de ( 104 ratings )
88%
Amazon.sa ( 104 ratings )
88%
Amazon.com.tr ( 104 ratings )
88%
Amazon.fr ( 104 ratings )
88%
Amazon.in ( 104 ratings )
88%
Amazon.se ( 104 ratings )
88%
Amazon.com.au ( 104 ratings )
88%
Amazon.sg ( 104 ratings )
88%
B&H Photo Video ( 36 ratings )
100%
SweetWater ( 13 ratings )
90%
Musicians Friend ( 6 ratings )
90%
Thomann ( 5 ratings )
96%
Guitar Center ( 5 ratings )
90%
Show more

REVIEWS

Showing 1 to 20 of 37 Reviews

Excellent sound quality

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Aug 25, 2021

Reviewed by Phillip on B&H Photo Video

Overall really like this mic, have used it for hundreds of very high profile videos. There are downsides however, primarily it is a very very sensitive mic, so obviously need a completely silent room to get amazing sound, and it also shouldn't be placed too high on an individual, any higher than the sternum (which of course shouldn't be done but hey, people wear bad clothes sometimes) and it gets incredibly throaty/bass heavy. It's also very very large, definitely not something you can conceal in any way (obviously not something you'd strap down under a shirt, nor was it designed for that, but just stating the obvious). With that in mind, it is crystal-clear audio the punches well above its price point, is quite forgiving about placement so long as it isn't too close to the speaker, rejects feedback better than an omni due to its pattern, and is one of the must-haves to keep in your kit if you're using the Shure ULX-D. ... More

Love this Microphone!

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Nov 14, 2016

Reviewed by Atlanta Gear Guy on B&H Photo Video

I use this for preachers at our church. It can handle a higher SPL and isn't horrible with monitors. Some lavs can't handle a little bit, I can give the speaker enough to be able to have a decent reference on the platform. For under $150, this microphone combats much more expensive options, the only downside is that it is large, but if you're on a budget and can't spend $500+ on a mic, this is the way to go in my opinion.

Lavalier mike by Shure has clean sound.

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Dec 20, 2010

Reviewed on B&H Photo Video

The lavalier cadioid mike from Shure, provides a crisp and clean sound with almost no pick up of ambient noise from crowds or clothing. It is small and unnoticed yet provides a sound as big and clear as a hand held mike. We have an older wireless system and when our mike failed from a break in the mike wire due to rough handling, we feared that it would be hard to find a replacement. ... Shure has kept the same connector design for their old and new models and we were back in business in a few days. Thanks, B&H ... More

Awesome lav

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Feb 8, 2011

Reviewed by Luke1027 on B&H Photo Video

We used this lav for a class being taught, recorded and filmed at the church. It's cheaper than the countryman headset and better for speakers who don't want a headset that feels awkward around their ear. We'll probably go on to use this for preaching on Sunday's as well. Sound quality was great, and when the person turns their head left to right it continues to pick up their voice well, without picking up other ambient noise around the person.

Hands down perfect

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Aug 13, 2015

Reviewed on B&H Photo Video

We use this product daily. Reliability is a must since we get one chance to get it right. This product delivers! Due to frequent use, our mic and or wire portion went bad after a ten year run. We realized that the condenser portion was fine so when we saw that we could replace the wire and mic portion with a click of a button we were thrilled. Not to mention it saved us a decent amount of money times twelve! I know of nothing that is negative.

Ads

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)
$118
B&H Photo Video
Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)
Shure WL185 Lavalier Microphone for Shure Wireless - Cardioid
$118
SweetWater
Shure WL185 Lavalier Microphone for Shure Wireless - Cardioid
Shure WL185
174€
Thomann
Shure WL185
Shure WL185 Lavalier Microphone
$118
Guitar Center
Shure WL185 Lavalier Microphone
Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone, 4ft Cable
$118
Adorama
Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone, 4ft Cable
Shure WL185 Lavalier Microphone
$118
Musicians Friend
Shure WL185 Lavalier Microphone
Shure WL185 Cardioid Condenser Lavalier Mic w/ 4' TA4F Cable
$113
Reverb
Shure WL185 Cardioid Condenser Lavalier Mic w/ 4' TA4F Cable
Shure WL185 Cardioid TQG Lavalier Microphone
$118
Zzounds
Shure WL185 Cardioid TQG Lavalier Microphone

Excellent Price

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Feb 3, 2014

Reviewed on B&H Photo Video

I am a stage entertainer and I do not use this microphone for music, so I can only speak for my purposes. It works well for me. Prior to this purchase, I bought an omnidirectional lavalier microphone and learned the hard way that omnidirectional mics have bad feedback problems near a set of speakers. This cardioid (WL185) mic solved the problem. I know because I tested it out a couple different places. I love that the WL185 comes with a windscreen. It is really nice.

The preist standard

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

May 1, 2018

Reviewed by Wayne on B&H Photo Video

I have spec'd in this mic for its cardioid pattern and tonal quality as a standard over the last 20 years. Remember to show preists to place it where their chin touches their chest and your eq should be trimmed back at mid bass. Instruct users not to wrap the cable around the bodypack and it will last for years.

Excelent Choice for live application

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Apr 29, 2010

Reviewed by Angelito on B&H Photo Video

The mic is used for our church and the results are just awesome. I called Shure support because of many options and they recommended this one for our application. Excelent feedback rejection. Clear and crisp on sound. I don't have to put up with the original flat lapel that sounds muffled when the mic pinhole is pointing inwards, this new WL185 is always pointing upwards. The old one is also more sensitive to feedback.

Best Speaking Mic for Shure Systems

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

May 21, 2013

Reviewed by EvangelistBarry on B&H Photo Video

I have used wireless mics for years for public speaking. I recently needed to purchase a backup system for an older one I had been using. I purchased a Shure, but it came with a smaller flatter, omnidirectional microphone. I bought this mic as a replacement for that one. It is superior in tone and sound quality and does not have the feedback issues that an omnidirectional mic does. I highly recommend this mic!

Awesome lav mic

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Jan 24, 2022

Reviewed by Matthew on B&H Photo Video

This is my go to lav mic to use with the shure wireless transmitters. It is well built, withstands abuse. The sound is about as good as you can expect from a lav. The polar patter is great for usability in a live application. The clip is well built to keep the mic pointed in the right direction. 10/10

Great Mic for video production

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Jul 3, 2009

Reviewed on B&H Photo Video

We use this mic exclusively for our news production. The pickup pattern is great and it has a very natural sound - for a great price.

Excellent product

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Sep 3, 2012

Reviewed on B&H Photo Video

I bought this lavalier because the one that my shure wireless system came with got a short in it. This mic works great! I use it 3 times a week with no problems. Seems to work better than the original. Less prone to feedback than the original mic as well.

MAKES IT EASIER FOR MY EAR PIECE ON 2-WAY RADIO.

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Jul 1, 2019

Reviewed by Ted on B&H Photo Video

MY FOOTBALL CREW USES THE 2-WAY RADIOS. SO MY WIRELESS MICOPHONE IS A HEADSET THAT I USE ON THE RIGHT EAR. SO I HAD TO USE THE 2-WAY RADIO ON MY LEFT EAR. NOW I USE WL 185 CARDIOID LAVALIER MICROPHONE CLIP ON MY SHIRT ZIPPER. SO NOW I CAN USE MY 2-WAY RADIO EAR PIECE ON THE RIGHT EAR NOT LEFT EAR.

Felt we needed a backup

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Sep 12, 2010

Reviewed by RAH on B&H Photo Video

A backup to the original we ordered from B&H couple years ago; orig. worked fine, but due to delicate nature of mic, it was felt we needed a duplicate in case the orig. failed or was broken.

Industry standard for a reason

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Nov 9, 2010

Reviewed by Default Sound Guy on B&H Photo Video

This lav mic works as well or better than any other I have tried. it is solid, with great quality sound and good pick-up. Shure is the industry standard for live sound, and this lav mic is one of the reasons why.

Wow!

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

May 11, 2022

Reviewed by Anne on B&H Photo Video

Our sound system is 25 years old and the older mics and cables we've been using were adequate but the addition of this mic and the Sure Bodypack transmitter was mind blowing. I would definitely recommend.

Great Microphone

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

May 13, 2015

Reviewed on B&H Photo Video

In my business, you always feel secure about Shure. I have purchased the cheaper brands, but none of them really live up to the build description. You defininetly get what you pay for.

Good solid Product!

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Nov 8, 2013

Reviewed on B&H Photo Video

We use the lavalier mic on our wireless system. I appreciate the solid construction of mic assembly, and heavy duty wire which is quite pliable. The lapel clip could use some improvment, which some may have difficulty operating with one hand.

Shure WL185 Microphone

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Jun 2, 2020

Reviewed by Joseph on B&H Photo Video

These are great microphones. I have been using them for years, but once in a while they get old and they have to be replaced.

Leaps above the basic Shure CVL

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Shure WL185 Cardioid Lavalier Microphone with TA4F Connector (Black)

Jun 30, 2020

Reviewed by Dashon on B&H Photo Video

This mic provides a warmth and tone and eliminate feedback. Just what we needed.

Showing 1 to 20 of 37 Reviews